top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthi Metaxa

15/02/2023 EVIL CHARACTER - REFERENCE FOOTAGE

Updated: Mar 30, 2023

For this emotion, I decided to use the line, "I'll get you my pretty, and your little dog too", from the film 'The Wizard of Oz. I decided to use this line specifically since I felt as though I could play around with the body shape as well as the hands. I really wanted to exaggerate the shake of the hand throughout the piece. The slouched body came in a lot later since it fit with the whole theme of being evil. I found it quite amusing since, the Wicked Witch of the West from the Wizard of Oz was an extremely thin and tall character through her character design, especially through her shoes and hat, but in my twist, she is instead old and decrepit. I really enjoyed to see the contrast of the real scene to my version of it. Another thing to note that I found interesting was how fast she said her line and how the soundtrack of the film helps amplify it. Through my rendition of the line, I decided to say it slowly and more creepily, to really allow the audience to be scared of the severity of the character's words through my acting. I also wanted to try to really emphasize on the sentence 'and your little dog too', so I can really play around with the idea of wanting to harm the animal since I really want to play around with a messed up character.


Here is the original video:

EVIL EMOTION - MY VERSION



DIFFERENT ATTEMPTS

Attempt 1:

For my first attempt, it was more of me trying to familiarize myself with the character that I wanted to show. After analyzing it, I realized I really liked the idea of the pointing, however, it felt too rushed and not exactly a lot of movement.




Attempt 2:

For my second attempt, I still tried to experiment with the hand shaking movement as well as pointing at the camera, felt like it was extremely effective with the line. I learned from the idea of not rushing the line, keeping it at a steady pace was the best option. I also enjoyed the movement of the hands at the beginning, a very sinister kind of movement. However, the body still felt stiff to me.




Attempt 3:

For my third attempt, I started to notice that I tried to understand my intention of the character before even reciting the line. I felt as though this was extremely effective when trying to understand the body language of the character. I started to pick up on traits that I found extremely effective throughout my attempts, which again, as mentioned previously were through the hands. I even started to do different points of the lines 'my pretty' and 'your little dog too'. I felt as though it was extremely effective through the feedback that I have gotten since it really started to display the importance of the two different characters that I refer to, especially the dog. In the Wizard of Oz, the camera cuts away as the Witch of the West says, 'your dog too', so I wanted to take advantage of the idea of me being seen on camera as I say this line. This is when I started to notice the more sinister side to my character when doing this version.



Attempt 4:

I realized it was quite similar to the third version, however, I felt more confident as I started to film, since I started to familiarize the role that I was doing. I wanted to create an evil witch character through these voice lines and I believe that this was the base for me to expand on.


ATTEMPT 5 - FINAL VERSION

For the final version, this is when I started to play around with the body language. I wanted to create quite a slouched out posture and play around with the movement as I pointed at the camera. I got to mix the qualities that I got to find effective throughout my acting. This is when I believe, I showed a more threatening aura towards the audience when I bring up the line 'your little dog too'.




0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page