top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthi Metaxa

30/01/2023 Week 1 - Final Year Project (Idea, Asking Questions regarding research)

Updated: Mar 30, 2023

The New year has arrived, and it is time to finally begin my Final Year Project and I honestly can't believe that I am at this point since it feels extremely surreal to me.

Over Christmas, I was thinking of ideas on what I could be doing for my final project. In the end, after having thought about it for some time, I decided that I wanted to work on Character Animation for Stop Motion. The reason why I chose this was because I wanted to be able to show my skills in character animation and be able to find a job in that domain.

So, since I had already an idea in mind, I had to think about what exactly I wanted to show to be able to show off my skills visually. In the end I decided that since I am not comfortable in making puppets for Stop Motion, that I would instead be using a regular armature. Through this armature, I will be able to pull off actions such as: Walk cycle, Run Cycle, different emotes (Happy, sad, angry etc.) and a dance.

Questions that I should be asking myself would be:

  • Are the armatures going to be animated in a stylized way?

  • Will I try to go for a constant visual look throughout my animations (such as the lighting and backdrop)? How will I edit the rigs out (if I intend to use rigs and not magnets), using Adobe After effects, Adobe Premiere pro or Adobe Photoshop?

  • What framerate suits my animations best, 12 fps or 24fps?

  • What form or research will I end up using? Will it be based on books and articles? Or will it also be based on qualitative research such as comparing old work from new?

  • As well as contacting companies regarding my work?

I feel as though there is still much for me to consider however, I am trying to keep in mind that the more I think on how to approach this now, the easier it will be for me when it comes to the practical work.

2 views0 comments

Bình luận


bottom of page