top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnthi Metaxa

15/02/2023 ANNOYED CHARACTER - REFERENCE FOOTAGE

Updated: Mar 30, 2023

So, in the end, this experiment was also quite tricky. I wasn't sure on what type of annoyance I wanted to make. I originally, wanted to create a character that was extremely fed up of everything, however, the more I thought about it the more it felt too monotonous.

In the end, through the feedback that I had given during my acting session, I decided that it would be an interesting twist to create an amusing, child-like personality to my character.

The line that I ended up focusing on is 'Well here's another fine mess you've gotten me into!'. It is from 'Sons of the Desert' (1933).

I picked this because it was based off the iconic Laurel and Hardy duo, who went through their usual shenanigans throughout the film. I found it quite amusing since the character isn't fazed at all by the idea of getting wet and saying his famous line.

So, I decided to think, what if there was another approach to this scene? What if he was annoyed? What if he showed anger and annoyance to the other character?

Due to these questions, it was how we concluded to creating a childish character.


Here is the original video:


DIFFERENT ATTEMPTS


Attempt 1+2:

This is a video a lot longer than the others, since it shows the criticisms that I had gotten regarding the acting that I had to do to be able to achieve the goal that I wanted. So what I noticed as I was doing my references, was that I had the energy through my vocals, however, I was unable to articulate the expressions that I wanted to do. As usual, we always started from a base so I could really improve on what I wanted to express to the audience.

So for the first 10 seconds (first attempt), my acting seemed extremely weak due to the fact I felt as though there was not enough emotion through my voice as well as my actions. The only thing I thought was effective, was the thump of my leg. But even still it felt a bit weak. As I had gotten the feedback after my attempts, it really allowed me to feel more confident. I realised that criticism may be hard but if I want to produce good quality work, then I need to make sure the references that I use our finalized in the way I feel content with.

In the last 7 seconds (the second attempt), I felt more confident and managed to get the expression and the movement somewhat correctly. I was also able to time my words again to emphasize the annoyance in my voice, while trying to thump my foot on the ground.


Attempt 3 - Final Attempt:

For the final attempt, this is when I perfected the acting for this character trope. Even though this was a tricky experiment, it felt a lot easier than the other emotive references that I had talked about.

I was able to recreate a 'whiney' kind of character through the way that I talked, as well as acted. I found it interesting that I was able to create a little bounce as I crossed my arms before facing sideways. I found it quite animated and jumpy. I was quite surprised that this was the point that I started to develop this bounciness into my work.

I managed to emphasize the thump of my feet on the ground while simultaneously saying the last word of my line which was 'Into'.

I found it fascinating that I also manged to highlight the letter 'M' in the words:

  • Mess

  • Me

Which really helps capture the idea of how the hypothetical situation messed up my character's mood in the scene. Little details like that helped conclude this experiment.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page